Pomona Arts Colony “Haiti Benefit!” These Kids Rock!

March 5th from 6-10PM at Angelo’s Italian Restaurant in the Pomona Arts Colony.  Check out 2nd Street and Garey Avenue under the tall Ornamental Iron gate that welcomes visitors to the Antique district. Directly down 2nd street (West) is the heart of the Arts Colony and tons of galleries and independant shops.  Of course PAC also houses “The Glass House” and the newly re-furbed and totally stellar “Fox Theater.”

Diamond Disaster Relief Fund was put together by two young women still in High School. Immediately after the Haiti disaster,  Elizabeth Olguin and a friend decided that they wanted to help raise funds for the children of Haiti in some way.  Putting together a bake sale to send funds to UNICEF was just the beginning. On March 5th, at Angelo’s the girls are trying their hand at a major benefit.  “The Haiti Relief Fest.”

They’ve got an artist from Haiti “jean-Paul” to join forces with them and that artist has created the bright and eclectic flyer for the benefit.  Jean-Paul will be exhibiting at the event, along with other artists.  There will be music, food, fun and wonderful art to buy.

DDRF Team for the Bake sale...this past week...

I met Elizabeth and her friends at the local super-market where they had put up their baking wares.  Never being able to pass up cupcakes and baked goods, I had to stop and see just what these kids were up to.  I noticed that they had some cupcakes adorned with the word “HAITI” on them and then I saw their sign, “Diamond Disaster Relief Fund”  and Elizabeth was quick to introduce herself.  She explained what they were doing and how they wanted to help.  She told me about the benefit and I mentioned my quick foray into “benefit production” when I coordinated my own benefit with bands, and photography to benefit Help For Brain Injured Children http://www.hbic.org in La Habra, back in 2005.  It wasn’t easy, it was hard work! but alot of fun.  I told her that my husband and I and other artists exhibited and some of the work sold.  Elizabeth was quick to jump on the idea of possibly getting some of my work and my husband’s work for the benefit.  I was totally down for it.  I told her I would donate 4 photographs and that whatever they sold for could go directly to D.D.R.F. to send to UNICEF. I am not sure if my husband (who is an amazing landscape photographer), will participate as he’s in Maine right now and there won’t be time for him to ready any of his work.

So I’m looking forward to seeing Elizabeth and her friends find success in this endeavor, it’s really a great altruistic event and a fantastic learning experience for a couple of young girls.  I have kids of my own, so I can’t help but see it also in that fashion. I hope that my art sells, not because I want it to “get out there” or to further my name etc., but because I want those photos to bring in the revenue in order to help the children in Haiti and I’m hoping we can do that in a big way.

DDRF says: Come to Angelo's in Pomona Arts / Antique District on March 5th!!!

I’m looking forward to the art of “Jean-Paul” and listening to the music that the girls have planned.  I’ll definitely take pictures and if I can I’ll do a video of the event and maybe even an interview of the girls and some of the patrons.  Look for more coverage on “The Trouble With Milk.”

Come to the event and see “The Pomona Arts Colony,” “The Pomona Antique District” and don’t forget to peruse the Lincoln Heights District where we have tons of beautiful craftsman and victorian homes.  This is “little-known” Pomona, come and discover it, have fun at a wonderful benefit for Haiti.

The Poster for the intial "Bake Sale for Haiti".....But the actual benefit is on March 5th @ Angelo's!!

Friday, March 5th at 2010 @ Angelo’s Italian Eatery, 135 East Second Street, Pomona, CA 91766.  Showcasing original artwork from special guests and Haitian Artist Jean Paul.  More info at ddrf.tumblr.com   Entry if $15.00 which includes food, live music and a free raffle!   If you don’t like or aren’t hungry for Italian food, then the entrance is only $7.00 how can you refuse?

6 thoughts on “Pomona Arts Colony “Haiti Benefit!” These Kids Rock!

  1. I am so inspired by the story of these young ladies, it is obvious that their parents have done a great job of teaching them important values of what life is really about. I will be attending the March 5th event and I look forward to meeting Mrs Long and thanking her for doing her part to further encourage the group to create new opportunities to spread their message of LOVE ! =)

  2. Thank you, Christine, for the kind words of both girls, Elizabeth and Madeline Le. Both possess the drive and empathy to take on this task. I’m so excited to see Maddie and Elizabeth’s efforts unfold Friday night. I know it will be a huge success!

  3. I applaud these girls for doing this. It’s not easy! I’m totally looking forward to it! I hope that DDRF goes on coordinating future events our world really needs these kids!

  4. Christine,
    You are the best! Thank you so much for all of your support and the wisdom that you share with our children. I look forward to sharing many more great experiences with you and our kids! The Haiti Fest was a huge success for Diamond Disaster Relief Fund. They were able to raise over $2000 to donate to UNICEF’s Haiti Fund. Thank you for you beautiful contributions!

    • Hi Ericka! I am so glad that you guys raised so much! it’s not easy! Let me know when the Chilean benefit is, you can use the balance of the works and I’ll create a few new ones (larger format). Our earthquake here in L.A. this AM was really a surprise huh? Still, we don’t even know a hint of the terror that the Haitians and Chileans went through. Next I’ll be posting about (or, linking to, rather…) an article called, “A survivor’s story.” So eloquently written. A first person account of a survivor in Haiti. Do check it out and keep in touch! Can’t wait for your next benefit. ~Chrissylong

Leave a Reply

